Back to All News

Andy Murray to join Team Europe


Three-time Grand Slam singles champion Andy Murray will make his Laver Cup debut when Europe takes on the World at The O2 in London from September 23-25, 2022.

Murray is the third member of Team Europe Captain Bjorn Borg’s six-man team, joining previously named tennis superstars Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer.

“I am extremely excited to have Andy on our team,” Borg said. “He is a dedicated, ferocious, and inspirational competitor who has re-established himself at the top of the game. He will be an incredible asset for the home team in both singles and doubles.”

Glasgow-born Murray broke through for his first major singles title at the US Open in 2012 and also won Wimbledon in 2013 and 2016. After winning an Olympic gold medal at London 2012, Murray became the first singles player to defend an Olympic title four years later at Rio. Murray rose to world No.1 in the ATP singles rankings on November 7, 2016 and held onto the top ranking for 41 weeks.

Together with Nadal, Federer, and Novak Djokovic, Murray is part of the Big Four dynasty that has collectively dominated tennis in the 21st century.

“I’m looking forward to playing the Laver Cup in London,” Murray said. “I love playing as part of a team and there is a great atmosphere and intensity to the event. I’ve heard lots of good things and I’m excited to be teaming up with both Roger and Rafa for Team Europe.”

Murray has won 46 tour-level singles and three doubles titles since turning pro in 2005.

Undergoing hip surgery in 2018 and 2019, he re-entered the top 100 in January and has halved his ranking in six months, with finals showings at Sydney and more recently at Stuttgart, where he pushed world No.10 Matteo Berrettini to three sets.

Team Europe is undefeated in Laver Cup competition, now in its fifth year. They won in Prague 2017, Chicago 2018, Geneva 2019, and Boston 2021.

The Laver Cup rotates host cities between Europe and the World, and after London, it will travel to Vancouver in 2023 and Berlin in 2024.

Named in honor of Australian tennis legend Rod Laver, winner of the calendar-year Grand Slam in 1962 and 1969, the competition pits six of the top players from Europe against six of their counterparts from the rest of the world.

Last week, Team World Captain John McEnroe announced his first three players based on rankings: Felix Auger-Aliassime, Taylor Fritz, and Diego Schwartzman.

You might also like

Founding Partner

Global Sponsors