Legends gather for Laver Cup

August 25, 2016

Five legends boasting 60 Grand Slam singles titles gather for Laver Cup

Major announcements included:
The legendary Rod Laver was joined on stage by current greats Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal, and former players Bjorn Borg and John McEnroe. Tennis greats boasting a shared 60 Grand Slam singles titles gathered in New York today to announce a series of updates on the all-new Laver Cup.

  • Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal committed to compete for Europe
  • Bjorn Borg will captain Europe and John McEnroe will lead The World for the first three years of the competition
  • The inaugural Laver Cup will be staged at the O2 arena in Prague, Czech Republic, from September 22–24, 2017.

The Laver Cup is named in honor of the great Rod Laver, the only man to win the Grand Slam* twice in his career, in 1962 and again in 1969.

*The Grand Slam is the achievement of winning all four major championships, the Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and US Open in a single calendar year.

Photo credit: Laver Cup / Ben Solomon