How Laver Cup Works

The Laver Cup pits six top European players against six of their counterparts from the rest of the World.

Team selection

Each team is comprised of six players, and led by a team captain, who is a legend of the sport. The captain of Europe is Bjorn Borg, and the captain of Team World is John McEnroe. 

Four of the six players qualify based on their ATP singles ranking as of the Monday following Wimbledon. Two are “captain’s picks”, announced by the Monday after the US Open.

Back to top

Laver Cup Format

The event is played over three days. On Friday and Saturday, there is a day and night session followed by a final single day session on Sunday.

Each day four matches are played – three singles and a doubles.

Both singles and doubles are best of three sets with ad scoring. In the event of split sets, the third set is a 10-point match tiebreaker.

Each player competes in at least one singles match during the first two days.

No player can play singles more than twice during the three days.

At least four of the six players must play doubles. No doubles combination is played more than once, unless for the Decider on Day 3, if points are 12:12.

The winning team must reach 13 points.

In the event of a tie after all 12 matches are played, a final overtime doubles match – a Decider – is played as a regular set with ad scoring and a tiebreak.

Friday’s line-up is announced on Thursday afternoon.
Saturday’s line-up is announced an hour after play ends on Friday night.
Sunday’s line-up is announced an hour after play ends on Saturday night.
Match-ups are determined through the exchange of line-up cards by the captains.

Back to top

Laver Cup Scoring

Points scoring
Each match win is worth one point on Friday, two points on Saturday, and three points on Sunday.

How to win the Laver Cup
The first team to reach 13 points out of a total 24 points available wins the Laver Cup. If the points are tied at 12:12 at the end of all matches, a fifth match (Decider) on Sunday is played to determine the winner.

Back to top


The location of the Laver Cup rotates between Europe and the rest of the world cities each year.

The event takes place every year, two weeks following the US Open.

The beautiful lakeside city of Geneva, will host the third edition of the Laver Cup from September 20-22, 2019

Back to top

Court Surface

The event is always played on one competition hard court in a retractable roof stadium or indoor arena.

Back to top

Team Captains

Each team is captained by a legend of the sport. For the first three years, Björn Borg will captain Team Europe and John McEnroe will lead Team World.

Captain’s Role
The captains are responsible for selecting the two captain’s picks as well as the players for singles and doubles matches.

Back to top