Captains

BJÖRN BORG

JOHN MCENROE

6. Juni 1956

Geboren

16. Februar 1959
Stockholm, Schweden

Geburtsort

Wiesbaden, Deutschland
Schweden

Nationalität

USA
Rechts (beidhändige Rückhand)

Spielhand

Links (einhändige Rückhand)
1973

Profi Seit

1978
1983

Rücktritt

1992
11

Grand-Slam-Bilanz

7
109

Wochen als Nr. 1

107

BJÖRN BORG Grand-Slam-Einzeltitel

  • 3. Runde Australian Open (Third round 1974)
  • Sieg Roland Garros (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981)
  • Sieg Wimbledon (1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980)
  • Final US Open (1976, 1978, 1980, 1981)

JOHN MCENROE Grand-Slam-Einzeltitel

  • Halbfinal Australian Open (1983)
  • Final Roland Garros (1984)
  • Sieg Wimbledon (1981, 1983, 1984)
  • Sieg US Open (1979, 1980, 1981, 1984)

BJÖRN BORG Teamrekorde

Sieg Davis Cup (1975)

JOHN MCENROE Teamrekorde

Sieg Davis Cup (1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1992)

DER EISMANN

Wer sich nur darauf konzentriert, was Björn Borg in einer weniger kurzen Karriere alles hätte erreichen können, vergisst, dass er sieben herrliche Jahre lang, von 1974 bis 1981, das Herrentennis dominierte und zu seiner Zeit der erfolgreichste Grand-Slam-Spieler der Open-Ära war. Wer sich ausschliesslich auf Borgs Wirkung zwischen den Grundlinien konzentriert, übersieht den Einfluss, den sein Rock-and-Roll-Nimbus auf den Sport in jener Blütezeit ausübte.

Borg war der ursprüngliche Tennis-Hipster; cool war nicht nur sein Status im Tennis-Olymp, er war auch die coolste Person auf dem Tennisplatz – sein Pokerface trug ihm den Spitznamen «Ice Man» ein. Im taktischen Bereich war der Schwede ein überzeugter Querdenker, ein schnellfüssiger Grundlinienspieler in einer Zeit der Netzspieler, dessen Vorhand und beidhändige Rückhand eine Topspin-Fertigkeit aufwiesen, die damals ihresgleichen suchte. Seine Spieltechnik schuf die Grundlage des modernen Tennis und machte ihn so vielseitig, dass er drei «Channel-Slams» gewann, indem er auf beiden Seiten des Ärmelkanals sowohl in Wimbledon als auch in Roland Garros innerhalb weniger Wochen triumphierte.

Obwohl er nach aussen den Inbegriff von Ruhe verkörperte, hinterliessen der Aufstieg von John McEnroe und die Strapazen eines voll dem Tennis gewidmeten Lebens ihre Spuren. Als er 1980 in einem der besten Grand-Slam-Endspiele seinen fünften Wimbledon-Titel in Serie holte, übermannte ihn weniger der Jubel als die totale Erleichterung.

Es war die erste von vier Grand-Slam-Begegnungen zwischen Borg und McEnroe, und der Amerikaner sollte die nächsten drei gewinnen und dem Schweden dabei zweimal den US-Open-Titel verwehren, den Borg in vier Finalteilnahmen vergeblich suchte. Nach dem letzten verpassten Sieg, in 1981, verliess Borg das Stadion noch vor der Pokalübergabe, sprang in seinen Volvo und brauste davon. Es schien undenkbar, dass er mit nur 25 Jahren am Ende seiner Karriere stehen sollte, aber das US Open war in der Tat sein letzter Auftritt an einem Grand-Slam-Turnier. Borg trat 1983 vom Profi-Tennis zurück, und obwohl er ein paar kurze Comebacks feierte, konnte er nicht mehr an die vormaligen Leistungen anknüpfen.

Dennoch ist sein Erbe unbestritten – er machte Tennis zum Volkssport, vor allem in Schweden. Als Knabe setzte sich Borg zwei Ziele: sein Land im Davis Cup zu vertreten und in Wimbledon auf dem Centre Court zu spielen. Er erreichte beide Ziele, und nicht zu knapp. 1975 verhalf er Schweden zum ersten Davis-Cup-Titel – das erste Siegerland, das nicht Grossbritannien, Frankreich, USA oder Australien hiess.
«Es gibt für einen Tennisspieler nichts Schöneres als zu siegen», sagte Borg einmal. «Es spielt keine Rolle, um wie viel es geht, siegen macht einfach glücklich. Es ist ein wunderschönes Gefühl. Als ob du auf dem Gipfele eines Berges stehst. Es ist wie ein Traum.»“

McENROE ÜBER BORG

„«Er hatte etwas an sich, das unerklärlich war. Ich weiss nicht, was es ist und warum es ist, aber es ist. Manche Leute haben diese unglaubliche, für mich unerklärliche Aura, ohne etwas dafür tun zu müssen. Als ob er in sein Superman-Kostüm geschlüpft wäre.»

– Zitat aus dem HBO-Dokumentarfilm «Fire and Ice»“

89.9

DIE ZAHLEN SPRECHEN FÜR SICH

Borgs Grand-Slam-Match-Bilanz (141:16) ist bis heute in der Open-Ära unerreicht. Kein Spieler hat eine bessere Siegquote in Wimbledon (92.7%) oder eine bessere 5-Satz-Bilanz (88.9%). Dreimal holte er eine Grand-Slam-Trophäe ohne Satzverlust, und in Wimbledon hat niemand sonst 41 Spiele in Serie gewonnen.

IN BORGS WORTEN

«Du musst es selber finden. Niemand findet es für dich.»

«Wenn du Angst hast, zu verlieren, dann traust du dich nicht, zu siegen.»

«Mein stärkster Punkt ist meine Beharrlichkeit. Ich gebe nie ein Spiel auf.»

«Ich wollte gewinnen, selbst im Training.»

«Natürlich habe ich Gefühle und werde emotional oder wütend, aber ich halte das unter Verschluss, weil ich den einen Gedanken nicht loswerde – ich will niemals wieder gesperrt werden.»

SPIEL MIT DEM FEUER

John McEnroe, der New Yorker mit dem berühmten Touch und dem berüchtigten Temperament, ist einer der grössten Naturtalente der Tennisgeschichte. Er war gerade mal 18 und immer noch ein Amateur, als er 1977 in Wimbledon aus der Qualifikationsrunde ins Rampenlicht trat und zum jüngsten Halbfinalisten seit 100 Jahren avancierte, bevor er gegen Landsmann Jimmy Connors verlor.

McEnroe liebte es, nach dem Aufschlag schnellstmöglich ans Netz zu gelangen und den Angriff mit einem Volley abzuschliessen (dass er der letzte Spieler war, der ein Turnier mit einem Holzschläger gewinnen konnte, zeugt davon), aber der Linkshänder konnte auch auf der Grundlinie problemlos mit den Grössten seiner Zeit mithalten. 1979 holte sich «Big Mac» den ersten von vier US-Open-Titeln und in 1981 die erste von drei Wimbledon-Kronen. Allerdings vergab er auch vier Grand-Slam-Siege – nicht zuletzt 1984, im erfolgreichsten Jahr seiner Karriere, als er in Roland Garros einen Zweisatz-Vorsprung gegen Ivan Lendl verpulverte.

Keine Beurteilung von Big Macs Karriere wäre komplett ohne Hinweis auf seine Wutausbrüche auf dem Platz – sein oft gehörter Schrei «You cannot be serious» («Das ist nicht Ihr Ernst») trug ihm 1981 im Erstrundenspiel in Wimbledon eine Punktverluststrafe ein und inspirierte auch den Titel seiner Autobiografie. Selbst im Jahr seiner besten Saisonbilanz (82 Siege gegen 3 Niederlagen in 1984) kassierte er in Stockholm eine dreiwöchige Spielsperre nach einer Schimpftirade auf die Platzrichter, bevor er das Turnier für sich entschied.

Weil McEnroe auch als Doppel-Spieler brillierte und zudem den USA fünf Davis Cup-Titel eintrug, ist er für viele der Inbegriff des Teamplayers in einem Individualistensport. Es war aber weniger seine Fähigkeit, andere zu inspirieren, die ihn zur lebenden Legende machte, als vielmehr seine Fähigkeit, sich selbst zu motivieren.

«Das grösste Kompliment für mich war es, mit einem Künstler verglichen zu werden», sagte er einst. «Ich kann mich mit diesem Solo-Aspekt des Künstlerseins identifizieren. Wenn du voll mit dir alleine bist und versuchst, etwas Grosses zu erreichen.»

BORG ÜBER McENROE

«Wir respektieren uns. Ich respektiere John, er respektiert mich. Als wir unsere ersten drei oder vier Spiele bestritten, fand er, ich sei kein schlechter Kerl. Wir bauten etwas auf im Tennis, etwas Positives. Ich bin sehr glücklich, dass ich Teil davon war. Wir hoben den Tennissport auf ein höheres Niveau.»

im Gespräch mit CNN in 2016

149

DIE ZAHLEN SPRECHEN FÜR SICH

Die Summe der von McEnroe gewonnenen Einzel-Titel (77) und Doppel-Titel (72) ist unerreicht in der Open-Ära. Man kann McEnroes Fähigkeiten im Doppel nicht genug herausstreichen: er war 270 Wochen lang die Nr. 1 im Doppel und gewann neun Grand-Slam-Doppeltitel, sieben davon mit Landsmann Peter Fleming, mit dem er eines der erfolgreichsten Teams aller Zeiten bildete. 1977 gewann er mit Mary Carillo auch seinen ersten Grand-Slam-Titel im Mixed-Doppel in Roland Garros.

IN McENROES WORTEN

«Du musst es selber finden. Niemand findet es für dich.»

«Wenn du Angst hast, zu verlieren, dann traust du dich nicht, zu siegen.»

«Mein stärkster Punkt ist meine Beharrlichkeit. Ich gebe nie ein Spiel auf.»

«Ich wollte gewinnen, selbst im Training.»

«Natürlich habe ich Gefühle und werde emotional oder wütend, aber ich halte das unter Verschluss, weil ich den einen Gedanken nicht loswerde – ich will niemals wieder gesperrt werden.»

Sept 21-23, 2018 | Chicago

Captains

Björn Borg

europe

PROFILE

Born: June 6, 1956 in Sodertalje, Sweden
Nationality: Sweden
Played: Right-handed (two-handed backhand)
Turned pro: 1973
Retired: 1983
Grand Slam record (11 titles)
Australian Open: Third round 1974
Roland Garros: Champion 1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981
Wimbledon: Champion 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980
US Open: Finalist 1976, 1978, 1980, 1981
Davis Cup titles: 1 (1975)
Weeks at No.1: 109

The Ice Man

Focus solely on what might have been in Björn Borg’s curtailed career, and you can forget the magnificence of his seven-year reign of the men’s game between 1974 and 1981 that made him, at that time, the most decorated grand slam champion of the Open era. Focus solely on Borg’s impact between the lines, however, and you miss the impact his rock-and-roll allure had on the sport in its heyday.

Borg was the original tennis hipster; the only thing cooler than his standing in the cultural firmament was his poker-faced demeanour on court, earning him the nickname the Ice Man. Tactically, the Swede was a conscientious contrarian, a fleet-footed baseliner in the age of the net-rusher, with a forehand and two-handed backhand laced with levels of topspin the likes of which had never been seen before. It was a blueprint the game we know today, and made Borg versatile enough to claim three ‘Channel Slams’, winning both Wimbledon and Roland Garros in a matter of weeks in 1978, 1979 and 1980.

While on the surface Borg was the epitome of calm, the rise of John McEnroe and the struggle of a young life devoted to tennis was taking its toll. After winning one of the great grand slam finals to claim his fifth consecutive Wimbledon triumph in 1980, his overriding emotion was relief rather than joy.

It was the first of their four meetings at the majors – and McEnroe would win the next three, twice denying Borg the U.S. Open title that would elude him in four finals. After the last, in 1981, Borg famously left the court before the trophy ceremony, escaped the stadium and jumped into a Volvo station wagon. It seemed unthinkable that, at the age of 25, his career could be over, but it proved to be his last appearance at a major. In 1983, he retired – and while there were fleeting comebacks, Borg would never again hit the heights.

Nevertheless, his legacy lives on in the popularity of the sport, particularly in Sweden. As a child Borg set himself two goals: to represent his country in Davis Cup and to play on Centre Court at Wimbledon. He surpassed both, leading Sweden to their first Davis Cup title in 1975 – the first won by a nation other than Great Britain, France, the United States and Australia.
“Winning is the most beautiful thing for a tennis player,” Borg once said. “It doesn’t matter how much you win, you’re so happy, it’s a wonderful feeling. You just feel like you’re at the top of the mountain. It’s like a dream.”

McEnroe on Borg

“He had this thing about him that was inexplicable. I don’t know what it is, why it is, but it is. Certain people have this incredible aura that I can’t explain without having to do anything. It’s like he got into his superman outfit.” – Speaking in HBO documentary Fire and Ice

89.9

What’s in a number?

Borg’s match win percentage at the majors (141-16), is unsurpassed in the Open era. No player has a better record at Wimbledon (92.7) or a better five-set record (88.9). On three occasions he won majors without dropping a set, while his 41 consecutive Wimbledon wins remains a record at the Championships.

Borg's words

You have to find it. No one else can find it for you.

If you’re afraid of losing, then you daren’t win.

My greatest point is my persistence. I never give up in a match.

I wanted to win, even in practice.

Sure you have feelings and you get emotional and angry but I kept everything inside because I think I still had that thought in mind – I didn’t want to get suspended again.

John McEnroe

world

PROFILE

Born: February 16, 1959 in Wiesbaden, Germany
Nationality: United States
Played: Left-handed (one-handed backhand)
Turned pro: 1978
Retired: 1992
Grand Slam record (7 titles)
Australian Open: Semifinalist 1983
Roland Garros: Finalist 1984
Wimbledon: Champion 1981, 1983, 1984
US Open: Champion 1979, 1980, 1981, 1984
Davis Cup titles: 5 (1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1992)
Weeks at No.1: 170

Playing with Fire

The New Yorker with the famous touch and infamous temper, John McEnroe is one of the most naturally gifted players to ever pick up a tennis racquet. He was just 18 and still an amateur when he burst onto the scene at Wimbledon in 1977, surging from the qualifying draw to become the youngest semi-finalist in a century before losing to compatriot Jimmy Connors.

McEnroe was a prolific serve-volleyer and said to possess the best hands in the business – something that his status as the last player to win a tournament with a wooden racquet would support – but the southpaw more than held his own with the game’s greats from the baseline. In 1979 he claimed the first of four U.S. Open titles and in 1981 the first of three Wimbledon crowns. Four major finals escaped his grasp, too – most notably at Roland Garros in the midst of his stellar 1984 season, where he squandered a two-set lead against Ivan Lendl.

No evaluation of Big Mac’s career is complete without reference to his on-court volatility –notorious enough to inspire the title of his autobiography, “You Cannot Be Serious,” a reference to his outburst following an out call during a first-round match at Wimbledon in 1981 that earned him a point penalty. Even during his unmatched 82-3 win-loss season in 1984, he served a three-week suspension for another explosion directed at the officials en route to a title win in Stockholm.

With a sparkling doubles career and five Davis Cup titles to his name, some consider McEnroe the ultimate team player to play an individual sport. But while his ability to inspire those around him was the stuff of legend, it was McEnroe’s ability to inspire himself that assured his standing among the finest the sport has ever seen.

“The greatest compliment I ever got was when people called me an artist,” he once said. “I understand that solo aspect of being an artist, when you’re in there by yourself, trying to do something great.”

Borg on McEnroe

“We respect each other. I respect John, he respects me. In the beginning when we started to play our first three or four matches, he felt like I was not the bad guy. We built something in tennis in a positive way. That I was part of that, I am very happy about that. We lifted tennis on a different level.” – Speaking to CNN in 2016

149

What’s in a number?

The combined total of McEnroe’s titles in singles (77) and doubles (72), an Open era record. McEnroe’s doubles prowess cannot be overstated: he spent 270 weeks as the doubles No.1, claiming nine majors in all – seven with fellow American Peter Fleming, making them one of the most formidable teams of all time – and won his first major title in mixed doubles at Roland Garros in 1977 alongside Mary Carillo.

McEnroe's words

The important thing is to learn a lesson every time you lose.

My greatest strength is that I have no weaknesses.

That’s one of the best sets I’ve seen him play although I should preface that by saying I haven’t seen him play before.

I’ll let the racquet do the talking.