How It Works

Laver Cup Explained

The Laver Cup pits six of the best men’s tennis players from Europe against six of their counterparts from the rest of the world over three days of intense team competition.

Team Selection

The top three-ranked players for each team earn a guaranteed invitation based on their ATP singles ranking on the Monday after Roland-Garros. The remaining three players will be ‘captain’s picks’ and named any time before the start of the US Open. If any players are announced prior to Roland-Garros, the respective team captain is committing to using a captain’s pick on any or all of them if they do not qualify based on ranking.

6 players
United Center lights up

Laver Cup Format

United Center lights up

The tournament consists of five sessions played over three days (Friday – Sunday).

Visit the Tournament Schedule page for more information

Both singles and doubles are best of three sets with ad scoring. In the event of split sets, the third set is a 10-point match tiebreaker.

Each player competes in at least one singles match during the first two days.

No player can play singles more than twice during the three days.

At least four of the six players must play doubles. No doubles combination is played more than once, unless for the Decider on Day 3, if points are 12:12.

The winning team must reach 13 points.

In the event of a tie after all 12 matches are played, a final overtime doubles match – a Decider – is played as a regular set with ad scoring and a tiebreak.

In the event that only one match is required on Sunday, an exhibition match is played following the trophy ceremony.

Friday’s lineup is announced on Thursday afternoon.
Saturday’s lineup is announced an hour after play ends on Friday night.
Sunday’s lineup is announced an hour after play ends on Saturday night.
Match-ups are determined through the exchange of lineup cards by the captains.

Laver Cup Scoring

Points Scoring
Each match win is worth one point on Friday, two points on Saturday, and three points on Sunday.


How to win the Laver Cup
The first team to reach 13 points out of a total 24 points available wins the Laver Cup.


If the points are tied at 12:12 at the end of all matches, a final overtime doubles match is played as a regular set with ad scoring and a tiebreak as a decider.



The location of the Laver Cup rotates between Europe and the rest of the world cities each year.

The event takes place every year, the second week after the US Open.

The seventh edition of the Laver Cup takes place from September, 20-22, 2024 at Mercedes-Benz Arena in Berlin. On March 22, 2024, the arena’s name will change to the Uber Arena.


Team Captains


Each team is captained by a legend of the sport. For Laver Cup 2024, Björn Borg is the captain of Team Europe and John McEnroe is the captain of Team World.

Captain’s Role
The captains are responsible for selecting the three captain’s picks as well as the players for singles and doubles matches.

Court Surface

The tournament is always played on one competition hard court in a retractable roof stadium or indoor arena.


Founding Partner

Global Sponsors